Cheers to a new year

“The Mayans were wrong.”

That my friends, was the text one of my best friends sent me at on December 21st. Not that I had any doubts mind you, but it was a little unnerving to see POSSIBLE DOOMSDAY ALMOST HERE constantly splashed on TV.

We made it through 2012 and opened our eyes to 2013.

Countdown-to-Fabulous-Dazzling-Styles-for-New-Years-Eve

I could list 10,000 about the past year, but I think Google sums it up a little bit better. Watch the Zeitgeist 2012: Year in Review – but be prepared for emotions and possible tears! The video of NASA celebrating the Mars Rover Landing at 1:26 got me a little choked-up.

So another year to be a better person and make more of a positive difference in the world. Every time I click to Facebook or Twitter, I see a post of friends and colleagues stating several New Years resolutions. Lose 10 pounds, straight As for the upcoming semester, planning a wedding for less than $15,000, increase patience and more.

Seeing all of these resolutions really made me think about my own. In the past, I’ve made resolutions…kept some, modified some, forgot some.

images

So for 2013, I want to make my resolutions about my health, my future and the business woman I want to become.

  1. Take advantage of every opportunity at school. Learn as much as possible, spend time with my amazing classmates and continue to be thankful for this incredible adventure
  2. Read 3 Wall Street Journal articles a day. AND, not immediately click to Media & Marketing! 
  3. Train for my 3rd half-marathon (I’m trying to run it in under 2 hours) 
  4. Cook a little bit more (no, LeanCuisine dinners do not count! I did make a delicious chili crockpot yesterday – so far I’m doing well!)
  5. Enjoy life – try not to over-think and stress about absolutely everything.

My mantra for 2013: Work hard, stay true to yourself…and have faith that everything will work out. 

When I hear people say that the new year is a great time to start over, it makes me me a little sad. Does that mean that the last year was a waste?

We always want to start fresh and begin again. But what if the previous year was great? I think that entering 2013 should mean remembering all the great things of 2012 – and being happy. Little changes and ways to improve are great, but don’t ever completely call the previous year a waste.

Opportunity-Costs-shutterstock_335201172

cool_13_1_half_marathon_sticker[1]

taco chili

images (1)

happy

Leave a Reply

